Interview with author Nicky Peacock

I had the pleasure of interviewing Nicky Peacock today. Nicky is the author of Bad blood which is the first book I reviewed for my blog – read it here.

Bad Blood

Bad blood is the first of four books in the series, watch this space for the reviews for the other books in the Bad Blood series.

Interview

What inspires you to write about the supernatural? 

I grew up on family ghost stories. My mum and dad used to tell my brother and me about a haunted house they lived in when they were first married. It was scary stuff and, years later, I met someone else who had lived in the same house – weirdly enough they told me the same stories about footsteps on the stairs, cans stacked in pyramids and Christmas trees that would never stay standing for long. Between that and being drawn to horror novels and movies, the supernatural is really my ‘go to’.

Which one of your characters would you like to be for the day and why and what would you spend the day doing?

I’d like to be to be an imaginary friend like Mr Custard from Lost in Wonderland. I’d spend the day helping people that need a friend.

What was your favourite book as a child?

I used to read The Animals of Farthing Wood, and I adored Roald Dahl. The Witches, James and the Giant Peach and Fantastic Mr Fox was my favourites. I also use to read the Tales from the Crypt comics and watch the TV show.

Nicky
You are stranded on a desert island with a character from one of your favourite books, who is it and what is the first thing you do together?

If I was stranded with Huckleberry Finn, we could build a raft together to escape! Or perhaps with the Crypt Keeper from the Tales from the Crypt. He could tell me stories; I’d never be bored then.

Would you rather have a witch or a wizard as a best friend?

Witch, they are usually eviler and more fun! We could cast spells, and she could teach me to ride a broomstick.

What author would you like to go in a submarine with?

LOL, I’m not sure I’d want to go in a submarine, too claustrophobic and I’ve watched too many disaster movies. I’d rather go on a boat trip with Stephen King – see if I can scare him.

Merlin has come along and changed you into a cat, you have to find the anecdote, what is it and who has it?

It’s a unicorn horn. It is being auctioned at a supernatural museum at midnight. I have to gather together a team of other cursed animals for a heist to steal it, so we can all turn back to humans. Little do they all know that the unicorn horn only has one spell left in it, and I’ll have to get to it first if I’ve any chance of breaking the curse.

Would you rather have a dogs tail or cats ears?

Cat ears, I could hide them under my long hair, and they’d give me fantastic hearing.

When writing your books how do you decide the personalities of your characters and do you ever base them on people you know?

Yes, but only parts. My protagonists tend to have at least aspect of me in them, that way I can channel them better through my prose. Other characters will have aspects of people I know in them; for example the way they speak and slang.

Who would play you in the movie of your life and why?

Kate Winslet. She’s a great actress, and my life is relatively boring, so she’d liven things up a bit.

What book do you wish you had written?

Twilight or The Hunger Games – they were both so big and got teens reading. They also made a nice wad of cash each, which I certainly wouldn’t turn down.

Who’s your favourite author and why?

So many authors! And they change depending on my mood. For horror, I read Poppy Z Brite or Richard Laymon. For Paranormal Romance I read Kresley Cole and Christine Feehan. For Urban Fantasy it’s Keri Arthur and Patricia Briggs. For YA it’s Kiera Cass and Cassandra Clare. And for when I’m feeling very brave, I read any paranormal non-fiction book from the publishers, Llewellyn.

Where can readers find you online?

Blog:   Twitter: Y  A Facebook Page:   UK Amazon Author Page:

US Amazon Author page:   Good Reads: Tumblr:  Authorgraph:

I currently have a FREE read available. YA vampires vs zombies historical novella, Traitors’ Gate. You can find it here:https://www.amazon.co.uk/Traitors-Battle-Undead-Nicky-Peacock-ebook/dp/B01KGBLIN0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1474314710&sr=8-1&keywords=traitors+gate+nicky

traitorsgate
And my latest book, Lost in Wonderland a YA supernatural thriller twist on Alice in Wonderland can be bought here:https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lost-Wonderland-Twisted-Brave-Book-ebook/dp/B01E9NX1W2/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1474314825&sr=1-2
lost-in-wonderland-evernightpublishing-jayaheer2016-large-3drender

Thank you for having me on your blog today.

 

Nicky 3

Published by

lynneawilson

Lover of books and writing, with a passion for the weird and wonderful. Take me out of reality and give me worlds full of magic and abstract life. Find me at : https://twitter.com/lynneawilson1 https://facebook.com/lynneawilsonwriter/

Leave a Reply

