Chasing Truth by Julie Cross

Chasing truth is a teenage murder mystery and I didn’t guess who the killer was before it was revealed! Now that, to me, is an ingredient for a great murder mystery. No spoilers here but when the killer is revealed, my inner voice screamed ‘no way! I’d never of guessed it was….’

thumbnail_copy-of-chasing-truth1-date

I thoroughly enjoyed this book; the first line is brilliant, it’s the kind of line that makes me think ‘wow what type of book am I reading now?’

‘It’s not like I haven’t seen a topless girl before.’  

I knew I was reading YA so I was aware it wasn’t going to get kinky but going straight into partial nudity amused me. A great start.

The story is written in first person, the view point of Ellie, the protagonist. I have to admit that in the first chapter she irritated me; I wanted to grab her by the shoulders, give her a shake and tell her to drop the bloody attitude. But a few chapters in and I’m warming to her more as she develops into a smart-sassy girl maneuvering herself around a new high school, dealing with grief and investigating her peers. By no means did her attitude put me off the story, in fact it added to it for me (I secretly wished I’d had that attitude and savviness at 17) by half way through I loved her!

Ellie has a rather dodgy, con-artist, background. She lives with sister Harper and Harpers boyfriend, Aiden, who is a secret service agent which made me think this is going to have a conspiracy theme to it and I wasn’t disappointed. Ellies friend, Simon, apparently committed suicide. Ellie isn’t convinced it was suicide and struggles to believe the official story, she has questions she wants answers to. A clever, hot, ‘new’ boy is brought in almost instantly creating the setting for some interesting relationships to play out; which I have to say, were well written and portrayed, I felt 17 again in many parts of the story or at least I had a few flash backs of being 17.

Ellie uses her ‘dodgy’ experience to hunt for answers and the truth about Simons death; she has an on and off investigative partnership with the hot new boy, Miles, that is encased with layers of lies and truths that are peeled away throughout the story along with a shirt or two. One minute they’re working together, the next they’re not but as the truths about each other are uncovered, so too are the lies and mysteries surrounding Simons death and the pair find themselves uncovering more than they bargained for.

I was slightly cocky throughout the book thinking I’d figured out who the killer was; the author makes a great ploy to get you believing you are right in your choice of killer, only to shake things up at the end, and who doesn’t love it when things become shaky?

A great murder mystery entwined with teenage angst and first romantic encounters.

4 out of 5 stars from me, looking forward to the next book in the series.

thumbnail_chasing-truth-cover

Tour Date:

September 26-Oct 14, 2016

 

Link to Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28220973-chasing-truth

Purchase Links:

Amazon  | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca | IndieBound | BAM | TBD 

Link to Tour Schedule:

http://www.chapter-by-chapter.com/blog-tour-schedule-chasing-truth-by-julie-cross/

Giveaway Information:

 

  • $50 Amazon Gift Card + a paperback copy of Whatever Life Throws at You (INT) 

 

thumbnail_chasing-truth-cover

Chasing Truth (Eleanor Ames #1)

by Julie Cross

Publication Date:  September 27, 2016

Publisher:  Entangled TEEN

At Holden Prep, the rich and powerful rule the school—and they’ll do just about anything to keep their dirty little secrets hidden.

When former con artist Eleanor Ames’s homecoming date commits suicide, she’s positive there’s something more going on. The more questions she asks, though, the more she crosses paths with Miles Beckett. He’s sexy, mysterious, arrogant…and he’s asking all the same questions.

Eleanor might not trust him—she doesn’t even like him—but they can’t keep their hands off of each other. Fighting the infuriating attraction is almost as hard as ignoring the fact that Miles isn’t telling her the truth…and that there’s a good chance he thinks she’s the killer.

 

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).

She’s also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!

thumbnail_julie-cross_author-photo

Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.

She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.

Outside of her reading and writing cred, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

 

Published by

lynneawilson

Lover of books and writing, with a passion for the weird and wonderful. Take me out of reality and give me worlds full of magic and abstract life. Find me at : https://twitter.com/lynneawilson1 https://facebook.com/lynneawilsonwriter/

2 thoughts on “Chasing Truth by Julie Cross”

Leave a Reply

