Interview with Josephine Angelini

I got to interview one of my favourite YA authors today! How exciting! We talked sandwiches, house elves of Hogwarts and licking your own butt!

What inspired you to write Fire Walker trilogy?

I had a nightmare. And I watch a lot of Science channel. And I always knew I wanted to write something witchy. So it really was just a bunch of thoughts brewing in my head that all swirled together and turned into a story.

Which one of your characters would you like to be for the day, why and what would you spend the day doing?

I would love to be Lily for a day. Mostly for Rowan 😉

What was your favorite book as a child?

When I was very little it was The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. Then just about anything by Judy Bloom. After that it was the Dragon Riders of Pem series by Anne McCaffery

What characters (of any book by any author) would you like to have a dinner party with and why?

I think I’d have to do something from Jane Austin, because her character really excelled at dinner parties as a rule. Either that or the house elves of Hogwarts. They must be a hoot.

 

You are stranded on a desert island with a character from one of your favorite books, who is it and what is the first thing you do together?

Arthur Dent and I would make sandwiches

Would you rather have a witch or a wizard as a best friend?

Witch

What author would you like to go in a submarine with?

Anna Carey. We’d have a great laugh.

Merlin has come along and changed you into a cat, you have to find the anecdote, what is it and who has it?

It’d be cat spit and I’d have it. All I have to do is give myself a bath, change back into me, and then I can tell people I licked my own butt just to see the look on their faces.

Would you rather have a dogs tail or cats ears?

Cat eats. Dogs tails are creepy.

When writing your books how do you decide the personalities of your characters and do you ever base them on people you know?

The personalities just sort of happen. I know that is so unhelpful, but the characters become who I need them to be to tell the story. And I borrow things from people all the time, but I never really copy them completely, I just use maybe two or three details in order to bring my characters to life.

Fans can find Josephine online here….https://twitter.com/josieangelini

and here http://www.josephineangelini.com/

Published by

lynneawilson

Lover of books and writing, with a passion for the weird and wonderful. Take me out of reality and give me worlds full of magic and abstract life. Find me at : https://twitter.com/lynneawilson1 https://facebook.com/lynneawilsonwriter/

Leave a Reply

